top of page

On The Earth with CHESKO - Interview


Hello people on the Earth, we just landed and on a spaceship nearby we met Chesko and decided to have a talk with him. Enjoy it!



Interviewer: Hello! How are you doing?

Chesko: Hi! I’m doing great. It’s been a while since I kinda disappeared from social media, but I’m great.

Interviewer: Since it’s the first time you’re on our blog, could you to introduce yourself and your music?

Chesko: I’m Chesko, I’m from Spain and I’m 22 years old. I would describe myself as a music producer but also as an artist, my music is mainly electronic. I love doing “Future bass” and “eletronic music” in general but I’ve been also working with other artists, doing pop and other genres for them. I think my sound is gonna evolve a bit more into bass and maybe, in the future, into softer thinks too.


I: You’re experimenting a lot with your sound right now?

C: I’ve been trying stuff I’m not sure where it’s gonna go. I have some songs ready, some of them are on the same vibe as the ones I’ve already released, some are a little bit harder, for example I have a dubstep one, but I’m also working on softer things. I don’t know where I am right now.


I: Let’s talk about your last amazing single: first of all, you collaborated again with DaWave and Gabriel Benjamin, how was it? How did that come to be?

C: The idea came from DaWave, he sent me a song he had already started. We kept sending each other versions and we arrived at the final product of the instrumental. For the singing part I instantly thought about Gabriel Benjamin […].

I’m very happy with how the song came out. We did it a while ago, it was probably finished in May.



(cr: @cheskomusic @wearedawave @gabrielbenjaminofficial)



I: I don’t know if you agree, but we find this song a little bit more on the trap side: how was producing this different style?

C: You can tell the original idea didn’t come from me, DaWave is more used to doing this style. But I tried putting my own touches on his idea.


I: We know that the lyrics are about the feeling of empowerment that comes with knowing your self-value and the journeys that all of you have walked in the past, was it always clear that this was gonna be the topic of the song or was it something Gabriel Benjamin wrote and you went with it?

C: Gabriel came up with the lyrics and we all decided it was really good topic to talk about. It’s kind of like when you break up with someone and you feel like it could have been really cool but you f*cked up, it’s kind of that vibe.


I: How would you describe the single in tree words:

C: Rage, a lot of energy and playful (with the lyrics). It has a lot of metaphors.


I: What inspires you to make music in this hard time we’re living in?

C: It’s been really difficult, since all of this started I almost gave up doing music three times. Before [COVID] we were always having new feelings and going to places, so when you went to turn on the laptop to produce something it was really easy, but now it’s like an obligation. I was like “I have to do something, I don’t have songs to release”. It was difficult. I used to listen to a lot more music before, when lockdown started I was doing nothing all day and that effected my creativity too. Also after an album is difficult to start something new, you waste a lot of creativity in there.


I: Since we are on this topic, you released your first album “Inside Gen” not too long ago and said album remix, what is the meaning of this album for you?

C: This album was something I thought about doing when I was little. It’s like a promise I did to myself to release it when I was ready. All the things I’ve been learning in making music all this years it was kinda to prepare myself to do this, so this is why it’s important for me. It’s my first album, that’s always special. Also I’m thinking about doing another one.


I: Do you have something on that or it’s just an idea?

C: I have a lot of new music but it wouldn’t be for the album, they are all collabs and singles maybe for an EP, I’m planning on doing a special one on another style. I haven’t started the album but it’s something I would do for, maybe, next year. I need to find the concept that brings everything together.


I: And how would you describe Inside Gen to someone that’s just now approaching your music?

It has a bit of everything, you have some typical EDM like in Start Over that’s more like a party song, you have some feelings related songs and you also have a lot of ambient and build up in the songs. You can tell I have ambient sounds to go with the song and instrumental songs where you can just turn everything off and focus on the music. There are also an interlude and an outro. It’s a unit, it’s not an album where you can just pick two or three songs well you can actually do both but if you listen to everything from the beginning to the end it’s more like a journey, and you can understand more what’s going on.


I: What’s your favourite track?

C: I wouldn’t be able [to choose]. My favourite song would be “APART” because it’s my first song but I don’t know.


I: Are there any songs that you threw away because you thought they were not good enough?

C: Yeah, also in the album you have two songs that were old projects of mine from 2017/2018 and I wasn’t planning of including them, I liked the songs but I didn’t think they could work but it’s an album you can add different styles and songs. I kept working on them for a couple more weeks and I got them in the album but I have at least 500 unfinished songs.


I: We know that one of your songs Go, that you produced with Rizha, has been used in a Skam scene, would you ever like to write music made specifically for a Tv show, movie or something?

C: Yes, for example I like what Labrinth did for Euphoria that would be cool. I think it’s a difficult task with a lot of responsibilities. Maybe it would be easier for me to do it for a videogame, I would love to do that. If I had the chance, I would do it, of course.


I: Are you working on any project right now?

C: I’m working on very different stuff. I have a secret project on the background that nobody knows about, I’m working on it with one of my managers. I’m also working for another artist, Manno, who is a new artist from New York. And working on collabs […]. And at the same time I’m also trying to find this new sound. I’m doing everything at the same time.




FIRE QUESTIONS

I: What’s the first thing you do in the morning?

C: I know it’s the worst but i always look at my phone.

I: Tell us an experience where you made yourself look like a fool

C: Whenever I’m dancing at the club.

I: If you had the power to solve just one and one only big problem in the world. What would you choose and why?

C: Climate change […]

I: Say three qualities and three flaws about yourself

C: Qualities: I like to dream big, I’m creative and very open minded

Flaws: I always need to know everything not in a really bad way but when I don’t know something I get a little unstable perhaps, I plan stuff too much and I can be lazy

I: If you had to choose an instrument between a triangle harmonica and maracas what would you choose

C: I think triangle is very iconic, the random guy in your class that plays it I would be that guy.

I: Which historical character would you be friends with

C: A really cool scientist, like Einstein. I like physics, I don’t know a lot about it, but I like them.

The interview ends with Chesko greetings all of his fans, especially his Italian fans saying goodbye in Italian.



Check out “Miss me” by Chesko, DaWave & Gabriel Benjamin on Spotify:


Let the ART
come to you.

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Black Icon YouTube
  • Black Icon Spotify
bottom of page